Big Hero 6

I went to the BFI´s preview of Big Hero 6, with the directors of the film introducing it. I have to admit, it was strange seeing a Disney film with human charactersand no love story. I like the direction Disney seems to be heading: 2013´s Frozen tacles a sister relationship, while Big Hero 6 tacles a brother relationship. I love that the film didn´t have  a purely evil character. It´s not a tale of good versus evil, but a revenge story.

There were three parts I particularily enjoyed about the film: 

  • The characterizations. The newly born combination between Disney and Marvel animated characters created deeper, funnier and highly enjoyable characters. Disney´s genuine, lovable characterizations were highly recognizable, while also presenting the funny and more dynamic Marvel personalities. I haven´t seen such amazing animated performances since the premiere of Shrek.
  • The ´drunk´scene. This wonderful interpretation of an inflatable robot running out of battery created an absolutely hilarious performance. I expect the filmmakers will receive plenty of critisism for it, probably accusations of promoting alchohol intake. To be perfectly honest I don´t think children will be aware of the similarities of the silly robot and a drunk person unless they´re familiar with alchohol induced behaviour, which personally I´d suggest would indicate a larger problem in their upbringing than the influence of animated characters. I think this moment in the film was what made Baymax ´human´, and made him lovable.
  • The revenge story. The film put such strong weight on the human lust for revenge, and our inability to automatically let go of sorrow and accept painful aspects of reality. The film evoked emotion, real emotion. You start wishing for the good story, the eternal Disney-altered fairytale where all the bad is defeated and the good rules the world. Yet, you´re thankful that your wish isn´t granted. You know that the good you feel at the end of the film, was created in spite of realistic obstacles, – and that is what makes it an honest, and a worthy, story. 

I´m not sure how I feel about the Production Design. I really liked the personal and intimate levels of design, and I think they functioned very well. I found that although the representation of the universe and existence of San Fransokyo was communicated very well, but I didn´t like the look of it. I suppose it would make sense if I had ever actually been to either San Fransisco or Tokyo, but since I haven´t I wasn´t able to establish a fondness for the design. It did work, however. As for the world level, I thought it was brilliant. It was very clear that the world was futuristic, that robots were a completely normal part of everyday life, while the rest of society was pretty similar to today´s life. I´m probably mixing the universe and the world a bit, and the world with the local, but I think that´s good: they´re supposed to blend together, right?

Leave a comment